betrayed

Betrayed

by David Givens
urban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african american

Reviewed by: Delonya Conyers
September 2009


Waterloo, Iowa may sound like a small Midwestern town but its proximity to the major highways leading to larger cities like Minneapolis, St Louis, Kansas City, Omaha, Milwaukee and even Chicago has transformed Waterloo into a goldmine for the GMC. The GMC (Get Money Crew) is headed by Darrell Jenkins whose moniker The Sandman wasn’t earned by telling bedtime stories. The betrayal he suffered at the hands of his former boss and his baby’s mother transforms Darrell into a ruthless yet focused leader.

Darrell’s mind is on his money and his money is on his mind as he plans on expanding his organization against some of his rivals in Waterloo. Darrell realizes that this expansion will bring about a drug war but he’s focused and secure in his plans at controlling Waterloo’s drug trade. But what Darrell couldn’t plan on was falling for Sherrice Valdez. Sherrice is a down on her luck former waitress whom Darrell rescues from a perilous situation and immediately falls for. Sherrice is just as smitten in her knight in shining armor and soon the duo is Waterloo’s power couple.

But lurking in the shadows is an enemy that’s plotting on Darrell’s empire. The unknown person is secretly working with a person inside of Darrell’s organization and also providing the police with damaging information. Information that will greatly benefit Detective Malik Thomas, who’s also been plotting on the demise of Darrell and the entire GMC.

What did you like best about the book?
Betrayed was an entertaining read that stayed true to Triple Crown Publication’s formula for delivering street tales.

What did you dislike about the book?
The books formula was a little too simplistic and had no elements to make it stand out amongst the countless other street tales.

How could the author improve the book?
With street lit gaining so much popularity Mr. Givens needs to add a fresh spin to give his story an unique touch so that it won’t become just another street tale.


The views expressed in published reviews are solely those of the reviewer. The Urban Book Source cannot be held accountable. The information featured, represents that of the reviewer and not that of The Urban Book Source. The reviewer takes full responsibility for the information presented.

Comments page 1 of 1:
Click Here to Add a Comment
Hazel :
Posted 554 days ago
Kaitlyn Tomlinson on October 25, 2012 Today at my school we all heard about Rachel's life and about how she died. We all were crnyig because it was just so emotional. She impacted on me immensely. Rachel is my hero. I wish i could have known her. She was and still is AMAZING. This is such an amazing story .. and i hope that others are also impacted from this to be like her. Rachel will NEVER be forgotten. Rest In Peace Rachel <33 xx http://cebfikwxq.com [url=http://gdtszncrxlw.com]gdtszncrxlw[/url] [link=http://cylrpfiubkk.com]cylrpfiubkk[/link]
Say :
Posted 554 days ago
Steve, you don't understand the<a href="http://jlfblzuivoy.com"> pcliripne</a> of free speech, which is not surprising, considering that you're a truther.No one is suggesting that Monckton should be prevented from speaking anywhere. However, a prestigious lecture series should not be issuing invitations to crackpots. If you don't understand the difference, try reading any book about free speech, such as Smolla.
MarkEso :
Posted 556 days ago
One bit of commentary that comes to mind are these 2009 rekrmas from then-FAUW President David DeVidi, who remained laudably politic about Dubai in particular, while yet noting that...faculty need to carefullyscrutinize administration claims: willa particular proposal actually helpsolve the problem it's advertised assolving....[R]umours abound that thesmall number of overseas programsthat have drowned in a sea of red inkis about to grow considerably. So ifsomeone is advertising an innovationas a potential moneymaker, ask thesequestions: how does this solve theproblem, which is a budget shortfallnext year? What are the chances thatit will really make money? What arethe costs that are not being taken intoaccount? It's always a time for goodnew ideas. A crisis is a time whenpeople are more likely to confuse badideas for good ones.
Felicia :
Posted 941 days ago
Wooo Hoooo, a tunnel going under the<a href="http://wpcmdz.com"> brgdie</a>! Haha. Great shot as always, Gattina.Thanks so much for joining in and helping with BRIDGING THE GAP. I've so much enjoyed all the photos you posted. It's been a lot of fun.
Felicia :
Posted 941 days ago
Wooo Hoooo, a tunnel going under the<a href="http://wpcmdz.com"> brgdie</a>! Haha. Great shot as always, Gattina.Thanks so much for joining in and helping with BRIDGING THE GAP. I've so much enjoyed all the photos you posted. It's been a lot of fun.
Alber :
Posted 942 days ago
Wie sfcfcfcfcfcss!!! Ich mag Schafe! Ich hab's auch endich gfsfhaect, Deinen Fotoblog in meinen reader aufzunehmen. *g*Du wirst mich hier also f6fter sehen... fcberhaupt wirst Du mich wieder f6fter sehen, denn solangsam finden wir unseren Rhythmus... in der Chaos Familie =) http://tnizjd.com [url=http://yhfcjcdyuji.com]yhfcjcdyuji[/url] [link=http://krboaxopnem.com]krboaxopnem[/link]
Richard :
Posted 943 days ago
Yes, Gattina, you can be thankful for that last parc. It seems so <a href="http://yvyynieemr.com">plaenast </a>!Just one restriction; the weather, in Northern Europe, like us, Waterloo seems to suffer from humidity, no?
Kazuki :
Posted 944 days ago
I like the white of your subjects and the duck looks like a swan, not that I can tell since I never seen one (duck or swan) in penkhntoarss for your visitlissa
Peerless :
Posted 2066 days ago
Keep on writing and chuiggng away!
 




THE URBAN BOOK SOURCE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY COMMENTS THAT ARE POSTED. IF A COMMENT IS DEFAMATORY, PLEASE CONTACT US AND APPROPRIATE ACTION WILL BE TAKEN.
    B O O K   R E V I E W   R A T I N G   S Y S T E M




      More Reviews:

This Can't Be Life

Nude Awakening

A Life for A Life

The Ultimate Sacrifice II

Daughter of The Game

Deranged

The Loudest Silence

G Spot 2

The Trifecta

      [ More Book Reviews ]



 

 



ABOUT US:
Company Info
Privacy Policy
Disclaimer
Advertise
Resources

Contributors
Faq
WRITE-UPS:
Features

Interviews
Editorials
Reviews
Columns
Archives
MEDIA:
Video
Gallery
Audio
Store

COMMUNITY:
Message Board
Contests
Giveaways
PUBLIC RELATIONS:
Get Featured. Be Heard.
Submit Your Book
Review For Us
Book Checklist
Join Mailing List
Send Your Feedback
Contact Us
SOCIAL MEDIA:
Myspace
Facebook
Twitter
Blackplanet
YouTube

© 2005 - 2010 by The Urban Book Source, LLC