juanita

Juanita

by Kenney Brown

Reviewed by The Pathfinder and Kisha Green
February 2010 / April 2010

Synopsis:

The story is set in St. Louis and takes the reader along with Juanita as she is taken in from the streets by a drug dealer and is taken into his life style. When rivals take down the dealer, she leaves him to be with another only to later be reclaimed by him and returned to his world. After having been abused by the dealer, she plots a revenge that rids her of him, and places her in a position to take over his empire, which she does with amazing success. Through it all, she delivers a child and longs to be rejoined with the child's father. At the fall of her own empire, she finally gets her wish to be rejoined with the father of her child. Betrayal would end that relationship and she would again be alone Her life is like a tug-of-war between the streets and something greater. The wild cards in it all are the crooked law enforcement officers who, in some ways, seem to be the worst criminals in the story. The end is final and disturbing but true to life.

Reviewed by: The Pathfinder

urban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african american


When I first picked up Juanita by Kenney Brown the cover immediately caught my attention. I thought it was refreshing and different. I delved into it without any angst but the high I had initially, quickly faded. Juanita started out as a misguided teenager who knew way too much for her years. Living in a dysfunctional household along with the every day habits of parents who were involved in just about everything imaginable, Juanita decides to run away from home. A chance encounter by a young thug who goes by the name of Ro gives her a new lease on life. You quickly got the sense that Juanita and Ro, both teenagers would hit it off. Ro, a drug dealer conducts is business in one of St. Louis's most notorious housing projects where he also lives and where the story is set.

Wanting to be a part of something different and the need to escape from her past, Juanita delves into the drug world with a naivety that is almost childlike. When Ro is confronted by his rivals he decides to hit back. As things began spiraling out of control, Juanita dumps him for another man. She eventually returns to him, but with a heavy heart. It wasn't long before she fell in love with one of his close friends and began a roller coaster journey filled with abuse and ill-treatment. Left with no other alternative other than to get revenge, betrayal was the vise she used to get even. She made a name for herself in the drug world, but while doing so she winds up pregnant and loses control of her empire.

I thought the author tried his best to highlight many of the nuances that so many dealers experience when dealing with crooked cops, betrayal, drugs, friendship and loyalty, and at the same time dealing with the inevitable which is incarceration or death.

What did you like best about this book?
The humanity of Juanita, in spite of her flaws.

What did you dislike about this book?
It was 418 pages, and it was quite a slow read. There was hardly if at all any dialogue between the characters. It wasn't formatted correctly. I thought the author was using certain words at times which wasn't needed at that particular point. The storyline was very difficult to grasp. The transition from the past to the present was difficult to follow. I cringed every time I picked up the book. Honestly, it took me a while to actually get into it. It wasn't an easy read.

How can the author improve this book?
He could improve on the character’s development and use a lot more dialogue which was non existent. I cannot emphasize it enough, dialogue, dialogue, dialogue. I felt as if I was reading the newspaper or some college textbook. The narrative was way too much for me to handle. The storyline was another issue I had a problem with. It wasn't strong enough. Here's an example of how the few dialogue exchanges were set up instead of the norm: “I'll be back in a minute. I'm going to get your clothes.” “Your food's waiting,” Juanita yelled. There are two people speaking in this exchange. I couldn't decide between the narrative and the few instances of dialogue which was better. There was an abundance of typos strewn throughout the book. An editor would be a great asset. I didn't know what to say or do as I read this book. But to be fair to the author and myself I read all 418 pages. When I was done, I was at a loss for words. If the author does all the above, Juanita would be a decent read. I would suggest that he get a really good editor and do a revision.


Reviewed by: Kisha Green

urban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african american


The debut novel, Juanita by Kenney Brown will grab your attention because of the cover. It is a hand drawn picture of a woman with her head hanging down and from that alone you know that Juanita has a story to tell. It may not be good or perhaps she is ashamed of herself and the choices she has made in her life.

The story takes place in St. Louis, Missouri where young Juanita is poverty stricken and her life at home is anything but right. It's nothing to write home about. She is a young girl lost and looking for a better life. The streets were calling and Juanita answered.

Out on the streets, it is survival of the fittest and Juanita is doing what needs to be done to get by. If that means hooking up with drug dealer, Ro, so be it. Juanita's new life with her new love gives her a sense of contentment. It’s the closest thing she has to normal. She is living the fast life and eventually what comes up must come down. Juanita sees first hand that in the blink of an eye, your life can be gone.

Author, Kenney Brown tells a story of self-discovery and though Juanita knows right from wrong, she finds herself in predicaments where she should have known better. This is a book about the fast life and a young girl out there trying to find her way. Brown goes further to show what happens when you want to live a “ghetto fabulous” lifestyle. Like most drug dealing tales, someone either ends up dead or incarcerated while telling their story from behind bars.

Juanita was a very long and hard read for me because I was anticipating the storyline to pickup. It felt as if the author had good intentions but the delivery was often delayed throughout the 418 pages. He attempted to illustrate that a life of crime will not result in anything good. He also introduced the reader to a character that became conditioned to believe that she was deserving of the abuse that she suffered.

What did you like best about this book?
A male author telling a tale in the voice of a female. This can be challenging for some writers but I felt it was conveyed well.

What did you dislike about this book?
I felt that the book was entirely too long and the pace of the storyline could have increased sooner rather than later. Perhaps, there could have been more dialogue earlier amongst the characters. I also disliked the typesetting, the font was very small and narrow.

How can the author improve this book?
As stated above, better typesetting as well as a quality editor that could help the author tweak the weak points of the book for a better revision.


The views expressed in published reviews are solely those of the reviewer. The Urban Book Source cannot be held accountable. The information featured, represents that of the reviewer and not that of The Urban Book Source. The reviewer takes full responsibility for the information presented.

Comments page 1 of 1:
Click Here to Add a Comment
hypnotherapeute lyon :
Posted 42 days ago
say thanks to a lot for your internet site it assists a
whole lot.
look at here now - article source - click here - image source - additional hints
- my website - breaking news - Suggested Reading - go now - he has a good point - simply click the next site - try here - click the up coming web page -
inquiry - visit the following web site - click through the next page -
from this source - visit the following web page - extra resources -
Suggested Website - linked web-site - click through the up coming post - website link - what is
it worth - visit the following post - Click on www.citruspectin.com.au - what google did to me - resource for
this article - visit the next website page - Going On this site - hop over to this site - mouse click the up coming webpage - please click the following article - sources - visit the next
website - internet site - browse around this site - click through the next website page - visit
the following internet page - just click the up coming page - visit this link - have a peek at this web-site - visit the next internet site - Recommended Internet
page - link homepage - find more - Recommended Internet site - click now
- find out this here - her explanation -
http://www.klasbahisgiris.com/author/claudeunder / - http://www.daytonasystem.com/bbs/index.php?p=/disc ussion/505/hypnose-tabac-lyon -
http://www.parrocchiasanpioxcagliari.it/UserProf ile/tabid/99/userId/83781/Default.aspx -
http://www.aesatl.org/wp-content/plugins/zingiri -forum/mybb/member.php?action=profile&uid=1402 70 - http://www.66pacific.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&a mp;t=811 - http://personeriadebarranquilla.gov.co/?option=com _k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=18269 - http://qdhaiqiao.com/comment/html/index.php?page=1 &id=105096 - http://forums.tomisimo.org/showthread.php?p=167031 - http://okbari.kr/index.php?mid=board_YLcH44&do cument_srl=101754 - http://www.micheleweb.it/Portal2/modules.php?name= Your_Account&op=userinfo&username=JamelTow nl - http://new.excelfence.com/UserProfile/tabid/57/use rId/767684/Default.aspx - http://www.platinomedia.com/component/easyblog/674 9-hypnose-ericksonienne-lyon - http://tvsalon.dyndns.tv/groups/testt/wiki/421da/h ypnose_a_lyon.html - https://www.shulkercraft.com/forums/viewtopic.php? id=6573 -
http://www.seedawn.com/comment/html/index.php?pa ge=1&id=109334 - http://www.antrovisie.nl/?option=com_k2&view=i temlist&task=user&id=10643 - http://forum.animals.ovh/member.php?action=profile &uid=63244 - http://bitcointalk.review/index.php?topic=481845.0 - http://krasotka-tlt.ru/?option=com_k2&view=ite mlist&task=user&id=160646 - http://metal-cave.phorum.pl/viewtopic.php?f=13& ;t=1680 - http://www.quebecaudio.com/used/index.php/author/d arioz3019/ - http://forum.pencilandinkreviews.com/discussion/79 431/hypnotherapie-lyon - http://contrapption.com/Default.aspx?tabid=61& userId=217283 - http://www.safleetwash.co.za/UserProfile/tabid/61/ userId/67483/Default.aspx - http://forum.avtock.ru//viewtopic.php?id=106484 - http://www.guann.com.tw/userinfo.php?uid=3019238 - http://www.kerkman.com/UserProfile/tabid/61/userId /1822900/Default.aspx - http://hoperly.com/index.php/blog/10177/hypnose-ar ret-tabac-lyon/ - http://betterbaitsystems.com/?option=com_k2&vi ew=itemlist&task=user&id=42851 - http://www.recordthepast.com/index.php/User:Elmer8 7O02 - http://extranet.onwardtek.com/fogbugz/default.asp? ScheduleAnything.2.73899.0 - http://stressfreetechsupport.com/?option=com_k2&am p;view=itemlist&task=user&id=88591 - http://agenciaxd.com.br/?option=com_k2&view=it emlist&task=user&id=115485 - http://www.sutianguis.com/user/profile/1517 - http://www.fvh-fswap.ca/forum/profile.php?id=149 - http://forum.gurumediabox.com/index.php?topic=2422 .0 - http://www.tlc-bynum.com/forum/index.php?topic=714 141.0 - http://ismartstorecn.116.vipidc.com/comment/html/i ndex.php?page=1&id=160991 - http://whlouti.cn/comment/html/index.php?page=1&am p;id=215990 -
http://www.sutianguis.com/user/profile/1517 - http://ns7.1newday.co.uk/ActivityFeed/MyProfile/ta bid/61/userId/17465/Default.aspx - http://sledderforums.com/member.php?u=151702-Delph ia12H - http://www.autogiordano.it/component/k2/itemlist/u ser/61772.html - http://malatyalimit.com/?option=com_k2&view=it emlist&task=user&id=14594 -
http://aljszx.com/comment/html/index.php?page=1& amp;id=290858 - http://shareskinnyfiber.com/index.php?p=/discussio n/105/hypnotherapie-lyon - http://ddowiki.com/page/Hypnose_tabac_lyon - http://www.jsaz.com.cn/ActivityFeed/MyProfile/tabi d/60/userId/1665/language/en-US/Default.aspx - http://hallkaliescort.com/index.php/author/renaldo boll/ - http://www.sutianguis.com/user/profile/1517 http://www.citruspectin.com.au/?option=com_k2& view=itemlist&task=user&id=1959
stpn :
Posted 112 days ago
http://eroticpro.ru/bryunetka-s-bolshimi-naturalny mi-siskami-v-dushe Эрот&# 1080;ка - брюн&# 1077;тка с боль&# 1096;ими нату&# 1088;альн& amp;#1099;ми сись&# 1082;ами
MarieDof :
Posted 158 days ago
инфл&# 1103;ция в сша http://www.bridgeextraction.co.uk/index.php?option =com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=140 09
CJmn :
Posted 165 days ago
браз&# 1080;льск& amp;#1080;е попк&# 1080; фото http://eroticpro.ru/erotika-v-chulkax-s-ulybkoj
dymnAsydayDak :
Posted 173 days ago
к чему чеше&# 1090;ся пере&# 1085;осиц& amp;#1072;


http://erselettronica.it/index.php?option=com_k2 &view=itemlist&task=user&id=158685
Kouassi :
Posted 889 days ago
Hello Cristina,I am Vanessa (Salaiz) Elias's sister and I just had a baby girl. She will be a month old on Sunday and I am<a href="http://cbwiyud.com"> ieterestnd</a> in having her picture taken before I go back to work. I am<a href="http://cbwiyud.com"> ieterestnd</a> in the mini session, Mondays or Wednesdays. Please let me know if you are available next week or the week after. Thanks so much!Teresa Salaiz
Iverson :
Posted 890 days ago
த à®° à®à®µà®&de g; à®à®³ ,à®à®± ய மல à®à®´ த ய à®° à® à® à®± à®° à®à®³ .ந ன à®à®£ யத த ல வந த ந ள à®® தல ப à® à® à®à®° ஠஠றத .ந ன à®à®²à®¨ ; த ஠ள ள à®® à®à®² ல à®à®¨ த ப ப à®à®³ ல à®® ந ன ஠மர வ த ஠஠஠஠ண ஠பà®à®® ; ஠த த à®à®¤ வல à®à®³ ல ப ஠஠த தந த ன .à®à®© ப ஠஠வ ல à®à®© ன à® à® à® à®® à® à® à® à®® à®à®© à®± à®à® ஠நன à® à®à®± à®® à®à®® னவà&re g;° à®à®³ à®à®© ன ஠ல ப ஠ன à®° à®à®³ . ப ன ன à® à®à® à®à®³ à®à®© ன à®® à®à®° ஠஠ன றன.à& reg;தன ல , à®à®¤ à®à®° à®à®¨ தல ல ந ன பழ ய பà®à®&cur ren; த à®à® த த ப த த ஠பத ய ப à®° த த ன . ஠தப ப வ à® à®à®¤ .à®à®© ல à®® , à®à®© à®± à®® à®à®© பà®à®® ; ஠஠ள à®à®£ à®à®µà®&de g; à®à®® à®à®£ à® .ந ன ப யர , வ ல à®à®® வ ள ப ப஠ய ஠஠ன னவà&re g;© . à®à®¸ ல த த வ மர ஠த த à®à®´ த யத ல பல à®® à®°à® à®à®² à®à®³ வந தன. à®à®© ல , ந ன à®à®© à®± à®® ப à®° ஠ப஠த தவ ல ல . à®à®© ன வல ய à®± à®± à®à®ª ஠பத வ à®à®³ à®® வந தத ஠த à®° ய à®® . à®à®© à®± வ வ஠ரம ப à®° த ஠ப ன னர ஠ண à® à® à®° ன ந ர஠஠ல ப ன guidance ல ப à® à® à®® à®± à®± à®® ஠ந தத .à®à®° ய மல à®à®´ தவ ண à® à®® .நன à®± http://wfnxobh.com [url=http://poglgsim.com]poglgsim[/url] [link=http://mijhahp.com]mijhahp[/link]
Reginaldo :
Posted 890 days ago
... த à®° à®à®µà®&de g; à®à®³ ,à®à®± ய மல à®à®´ த ய à®° à® à® à®± à®° à®à®³ .ந ன à®à®£ யத த ல வந த ந ள à®® தல ப à® à® à®à®° ஠஠றத .ந ன à®à®²à®¨ ; த ஠ள ள à®® à®à®² ல à®à®¨ த ப ப à®à®³ ல à®® ந ன ஠மர வ த ஠஠஠஠ண ஠பà®à®® ; ஠த த à®à®¤ வல à®à®³ ல ப ஠஠த தந த ன .à®à®© ப ஠஠வ ல à®à®© ன à® à® à® à®® à® à® à® à®® à®à®© à®± à®à® ஠நன à® à®à®± à®® à®à®® னவà&re g;° à®à®³ à®à®© ன ஠ல ப ஠ன à®° à®à®³ . ப ன ன à® à®à® à®à®³ à®à®© ன à®® à®à®° ஠஠ன றன.à& reg;தன ல , à®à®¤ à®à®° à®à®¨ தல ல ந ன பழ ய பà®à®&cur ren; த à®à® த த ப த த ஠பத ய ப à®° த த ன . ஠தப ப வ à® à®à®¤ .à®à®© ல à®® , à®à®© à®± à®® à®à®© பà®à®® ; ஠஠ள à®à®£ à®à®µà®&de g; à®à®® à®à®£ à® .ந ன ப யர , வ ல à®à®® வ ள ப ப஠ய ஠஠ன னவà&re g;© . à®à®¸ ல த த வ மர ஠த த à®à®´ த யத ல பல à®® à®°à® à®à®² à®à®³ வந தன. à®à®© ல , ந ன à®à®© à®± à®® ப à®° ஠ப஠த தவ ல ல . à®à®© ன வல ய à®± à®± à®à®ª ஠பத வ à®à®³ à®® வந தத ஠த à®° ய à®® . à®à®© à®± வ வ஠ரம ப à®° த ஠ப ன னர ஠ண à® à® à®° ன ந ர஠஠ல ப ன guidance ல ப à® à® à®® à®± à®± à®® ஠ந தத .à®à®° ய மல à®à®´ தவ ண à® à®® .நன à®± //வ ள஠à®à®¤ த à®± ஠நன à®± ! பழ ய வர஠;² à®± த à®° ய தத தவà& reg;± த ன . à®à®® ப ஠ல஠à®à®³ ல ந ன à®à® à®à®³ பத வ ப à®° த த வர à® à®± ப த பà®à®&cur ren; த ஠ணவ ல ல à®à®© பத à® à®± ப ப ஠஠஠வ ண à® à®® . à®à® à®à®³ ஠஠தன ப ப஠஠வ தத த ல à®à®¤à®&c opy; ல ப த ப ப à®à®° ப ப ன ப à®± த தர ள à®!
Ludy :
Posted 892 days ago
Growing up having drug addcited parents I learned from an early age that we were different. I could never have friends over and people were in an out at all times of the night and morning. This life was normal for my sister and I. I vowed to never do that to my children. Well, history likes to repeat itself, but I was better than my parents, and I just left my son comepletely to pursue my druging and drinking career. I have not touched a drug in 10 years and I still see the affect it has on my oldest son to this day. He is now 12 and he was 2 when I quit. My mother still suffers from these diseases and I have had to be very honest with my kids as to why they can't see their Grandma. It was extremely hard for me to have that talk, but it just has to be done these days. I have always been honest with my oldest son about the poor choices I have made in my life regarding drugs and alcohol. I can't take back the choices I have made but I can take advantage of every minute of every day that I have left. I do not believe in sheltering children from the evil's of the world, but it is nice to know that with me being in AA and having my children exposed to that, they know that they always have a home there. What an amazing gift that my children and I are being given so freely. I give thanks that I was guided and inspired to be in the 12 step fellowship. There is a great bond here.
 




THE URBAN BOOK SOURCE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY COMMENTS THAT ARE POSTED. IF A COMMENT IS DEFAMATORY, PLEASE CONTACT US AND APPROPRIATE ACTION WILL BE TAKEN.
    B O O K   R E V I E W   R A T I N G   S Y S T E M




      More Reviews:

This Can't Be Life

Nude Awakening

A Life for A Life

The Ultimate Sacrifice II

Daughter of The Game

Deranged

The Loudest Silence

G Spot 2

The Trifecta

      [ More Book Reviews ]



 

 



ABOUT US:
Company Info
Privacy Policy
Disclaimer
Advertise
Resources

Contributors
Faq
WRITE-UPS:
Features

Interviews
Editorials
Reviews
Columns
Archives
MEDIA:
Video
Gallery
Audio
Store

COMMUNITY:
Message Board
Contests
Giveaways
PUBLIC RELATIONS:
Get Featured. Be Heard.
Submit Your Book
Review For Us
Book Checklist
Join Mailing List
Send Your Feedback
Contact Us
SOCIAL MEDIA:
Myspace
Facebook
Twitter
Blackplanet
YouTube

© 2005 - 2010 by The Urban Book Source, LLC