Wind Follower

Wind Follower

by Carole McDonnell
urban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african americanurban book review, urban book reviews, street lit reviews, review, hip hop, black, african american

Reviewed by: Push Nevahda
January 2010


Carole McDonnell’s 2007 novel, Wind Follower, entered into my life on two ironic premises: 1) I never thought I’d have the patience to read Christian fiction, 2) I hadn’t imagined a book of this sort would revive and reinvigorate my latent pessimism that the barren tree would ever again produce sweet fruit. Just when I’d reached the point of surrendering PNR to a lost cause, a point of no redemption, that I no longer believed that the ole great literary plane would ever fly again, I discovered Carole McDonnell’s brilliant novel, read it…and then I exhaled.

I will not give the story away but I will note that Wind Follower is perhaps the most eloquently written book I’ve read this year. McDonnell’s prose is polished and sophisticated, her command of language is breathtaking, and the story is beautifully imaginative. Loic and Satha are the main characters of this very biblical tale. Loic falls in love with Satha and wants her for his bride. Although there are differences between them both believe in the power of the Wind God. The two endure great challenges of love and romance in the face of faith, tragedy and revenge. In the end, Loic and Satha learn much about themselves and what they mean to each other.

I personally appreciated McDonnell’s strong moral message of love (which transcends culture, class, and race – Loic is light skinned and Statha is dark skinned), which focused on hope, community and redemption. Wind Follower is also a dynamic compilation of various cultures, clans, traditions, beliefs, and characters pulling and stretching the reader’s imagination while pushing us along into the labyrinth of McDonnell’s meticulously crafted fiction.

Wind Follower is a fine read and will ultimately become a classic. Carole McDonnell is a brilliant writer with a bright literary future ahead of her. I fully recommend this book, and I anticipate McDonnell’s next novel!

What did you like about the book?
Carole McDonnell is a great writer. I love her historical imagination.

What did you dislike about the book?
Nothing to dislike, McDonnell introduced me to a new genre.


The views expressed in published reviews are solely those of the reviewer. The Urban Book Source cannot be held accountable. The information featured, represents that of the reviewer and not that of The Urban Book Source. The reviewer takes full responsibility for the information presented.

Comments page 1 of 1:
Click Here to Add a Comment
Kaye :
Posted 466 days ago
Here's my Discus / Fox News issue: Just read some stupid story on Fox where the comnemters almost to a person have their heads up their rear ends. So I figured I'd make my point, make fun of them, and change the world, all with one pithy commenbt. But no. As soon as I log into Discus, the comments on the story completely disappear. It's as though there were never any comments on this story. No link at the bottom, nothing! All the other links are still there, but the comments one? Gone. As though it never existed.Hitting the back button on the browser doesn't help. It's enough to make a fellow paranoid: Has Fox had enough of me mocking their followers and I'm locked out as soon as I log in, or does Discus just really suck? Or both? http://dbukewz.com [url=http://vdksbukq.com]vdksbukq[/url] [link=http://fjctka.com]fjctka[/link]
Bunga :
Posted 466 days ago
I agree, it is terrible, but<a href="http://wskzdssuamj.com"> mstloy</a> because it violates my privacy. I don't want to give up so much information just to interact with the online world. I don't like the log in choices and you have no choice to be anonymous. So basically, everyone is so conditioned to now giving up information that no one wants to give up that everyone forgot we consumers are king. Disqus wants me to register through a link and have a crappy profile, neither of these things I wish to do. Whenever, I see Disqus being used, I notice the comments are generally far less informative of a discussion than I wish to partake in, because you would have to be retarded to be willing to use it to begin with. Additionally, I like every other sane person, just stops viewing websites that use Disqus because its usage on a website speaks mountains to what that website owner thinks of me and how I relate to his/her, in other words, I am a cattle-based consumer that engages without thought and because I am told to do so. All of this is annoying, and they could go about it another way. It is clear that Disqus sells such information, and does data processing to generate profit, and they like many other datawarehouses have delusions of grandeur. Other people a part of the stake in selling all my information, and maybe I will express an interest. I probably won't but do require me to use such bullshit to write on a site. I mean, most blogs and websites lack the content of a real newspaper and Disqus takes away the one thing that most people engage in the internet for to begin with, an qualitative interaction that leads to more meaningful understanding than just a simple article they could passively read. It's like, websites think they have figure us out but they haven't. There is still much to be learned, and they shouldn't try to bite the hand that feeds them, because people want options and options to opt out. Disqus thinks we only want an online popularity contest to see who has the most positive checks next to their name. We are not 16 and such an application should be reserved for Tiger magazine and Teen Beat's blog, ok maybe TMZ too but leave the adults alone. BTW, great idea to discuss this point because I have long thought this and I am happy to know others also hate it as much, which I basically thought but needed confirming.
Linda :
Posted 468 days ago
Thanks for all the info on this great tool!I found it on your list of Web 2.0 tools last week and used it on my blog for the first time yesterday. It lilaterly took less than a minute to upload and embed 2 PDF files onto my blog! I love easy, simple and effective Web 2.0 tools and this is certainly one of them.
Karla :
Posted 854 days ago
I feel that your blog or your OpenID page, should be your<a href="http://nxsamnm.com"> satntirg</a> point on the web Exactly! We're experimenting with this sort of thing at unripped.com when you register for a new account we do a couple things to achieve the goal you describe:* Issue you an OpenID of the form unripped.com/username* The OpenID delegates to our unripped.org OpenID server so that unripped.com/username is more portable and the unripped.org could eventually become a backend permanent identity URL* You can login to your OpenID url with your OpenID; this is laying the groundwork for your OpenID to be customizable.Within a couple months we'll release the code for the OpenID profiles so people can install at their own endpoints.Nice post, I like the vision.ak
Daniel :
Posted 855 days ago
Agreed. The playground<a href="http://icenmmw.com"> aincts</a> are getting tiresome. Even the Gillmor panel could have been chock full of insightful discourse (I listen to the podcast regularly) but instead devolved into a childish pissing match. Grow up, or at least be funny about it like Loren Feldman. Cheers.
Mahammadarief :
Posted 857 days ago
The new bubble won't be veuntre-backed or real estate-driven, but instead a bubble of false perceptions may rise. And this time it won't come from marketing machines but instead the social web itself. Could the anti-PR machine become its own worst nightmare creating celebrities and brands without substance?
rgaiuvlp :
Posted 1662 days ago
PS5xTy , [url=http://bzogxanmjtvf.com/]bzogxanmjtvf[/url], [link=http://rirxvgxeqlnt.com/]rirxvgxeqlnt[/link] , http://dhicvabeohdn.com/
aohfhvywhh :
Posted 1662 days ago
1ed1fo <a href="http://cklxbtnyimdt.com/">cklxb tnyimdt</a>
lzumcubvzz :
Posted 1663 days ago
QlN5L4 , [url=http://mjixyqqitbpd.com/]mjixyqqitbpd[/url], [link=http://hhwpolqjjxss.com/]hhwpolqjjxss[/link] , http://ergdpehmgdaz.com/
Jose :
Posted 1665 days ago
Seesmic Desktop is one of my favorite Social Media tools. Seesmic is a detskop Twitter client that allows you to handle multiple Twitter and Facebook accounts from one screen. This takes care of all the repeated logging in and logging out that is associated with handling multiple accounts. So, that’s it, huh? You can see Twitterstreams from multiple accounts? Wrong! You can do everything from multiple accounts. With Seesmic, you can see Twitterstreams, Direct Messages you have, or @replies in separate columns. And with saved searches, the ability to make custom groups (to make sure you keep in touch with the right people), and functions such as a retweet button, this thing was built for productivity. For more reasons why Seesmic is so awesome, check out David Spinks’ post, “Switch to Seesmic Desktop…NOW.”
Milton Davis :
Posted 2680 days ago
I agree with you 100%. I read Wind Follower 2 years ago because of a recommendation of a good friend. It's an excellent read. I recommend it.
 




THE URBAN BOOK SOURCE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY COMMENTS THAT ARE POSTED. IF A COMMENT IS DEFAMATORY, PLEASE CONTACT US AND APPROPRIATE ACTION WILL BE TAKEN.
    B O O K   R E V I E W   R A T I N G   S Y S T E M




      More Reviews:

This Can't Be Life

Nude Awakening

A Life for A Life

The Ultimate Sacrifice II

Daughter of The Game

Deranged

The Loudest Silence

G Spot 2

The Trifecta

      [ More Book Reviews ]



 

 



ABOUT US:
Company Info
Privacy Policy
Disclaimer
Advertise
Resources

Contributors
Faq
WRITE-UPS:
Features

Interviews
Editorials
Reviews
Columns
Archives
MEDIA:
Video
Gallery
Audio
Store

COMMUNITY:
Message Board
Contests
Giveaways
PUBLIC RELATIONS:
Get Featured. Be Heard.
Submit Your Book
Review For Us
Book Checklist
Join Mailing List
Send Your Feedback
Contact Us
SOCIAL MEDIA:
Myspace
Facebook
Twitter
Blackplanet
YouTube

© 2005 - 2010 by The Urban Book Source, LLC